Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Many Agencies To Be Scrapped As Tinubu Orders Implementation Of Oronsaye Report

President Bola Tinubu has given the directive to implement the Oronsaye report, which was submitted in 2012 under the Goodluck Jonathan administration.

Gatekeepers News reports that the report focuses on restructuring and rationalizing federal agencies, parastatals, and commissions to enhance efficiency in the federal service, and reduce the cost of governance. The implementation process involves merging, subsuming, and scrapping agencies with similar functions.

To ensure that the necessary legislative amendments and administrative restructuring needed to implement the reforms are affected in an efficient manner, an eight-man committee has been constituted with a 12-week deadline.

The committee comprises the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Head of the Civil Service, Attorney General and Justice Minister, Budget and Planning Minister, DG Bureau of Public Service Reform, Special Adviser to the President on Policy Coordination, and Special Assistant to the President on National Assembly. The Cabinet Affairs Office will serve as the secretariat.

This decision taken by the Tinubu administration is expected to enhance the effectiveness of the federal service and reduce the cost of governance.

Key recommendations for implementation include:

-National Salaries, Income and Wages Commission to be subsumed under Revenue Mobilisation and Fiscal Commission. The National Assembly will need to amend the constitution as RMAFC was established by the Constitution.

-Infrastructure Concession and Regulatory Commission to be merged with Bureau of Public Enterprise and be renamed Public Enterprises and Infrastructural Concession Commission.

-National Human Rights Commission to absorb Public Complaints Commission.

-Pension Transitional Arrangement Directorate (PTAD) to be scrapped and functions to be taken over by Federal Ministry of Finance.

-NEMA and National Commission for Refugees to be fused to become National Emergency and Refugee Management Commission.

-Border Communities Development Agency to become a department under National Boundary Commission.

-NACA and NCDC are to be merged.

-SERVICOM to become a department under the Bureau for Public Service Reform(BPSR).

-NALDA to return to the Ministry of Agriculture and Food Security.

-Federal Ministry of Science to supervise a new agency that combines NCAM, NASENI, and PRODA.

– National Commission for Museums and Monuments and National Gallery of Arts to become one entity that will be known as National Commission for Museums, Monuments, and Gallery of Arts.

-National Theatre to be merged with National Troupe.

-Directorate of Technical Cooperation in Africa and Directorate of Technical Aid Corp to be merged under the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

-Nigerians in Diaspora Commission to become an agency under the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

-Federal Radio Corporation and Voice of Nigeria to be one entity to be known as Federal Broadcasting Corporation of Nigeria.


You May Also Like


Minister of Works, David Umahi has noted that despite the skyrocketed cost of materials in the construction industry caused by the dynamics of commodity...


President Bola Ahmed Tinubu has sent his greetings to the Muslim Ummah on the occasion of Eid-el-Fitr which marks the end of Ramadan, a...


President Bola Tinubu will depart Abuja, the Nation’s Capital, for Lagos on Sunday ahead of Eid-el-Fitr. Gatekeepers News reports that the President’s Special Adviser on...


President Bola Tinubu joined the military and other Nigerians to pay last respect to 17 soldiers that were killed in Delta community as their...