Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Pius Olanrewaju Sworn-in As CIBN President

Pius Olanrewaju Sworn-in As CIBN President
Professor Pius Olanrewaju has been sworn in as the 23rd President/Chairman of the Council, Chartered Institute of Bankers of Nigeria (CIBN).

Gatekeepers News reports that Olanrewaju was sworn in by Justice Owolabi Dabiri at an event held in Lagos on Friday which was chaired by Senior Advocate of Nigeria, Wole Olanipekun.

After the swearing-in, he was decorated with the insignia of office.

In his goodwill message, the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Tajudeen Abbas, who was represented by the chairman, of the House Committee on Banking, Nwachukwu Eze, hailed the immediate past CIBN president, Ken Opara and called on the new leadership of the organisation to embrace technology to boost financial inclusion.

Abbas said, “Today, as you welcome the incoming President and new Chairman of the Council, we also reflect on the challenges and opportunities that lie ahead. The banking sector is constantly evolving, driven by technological advancements, regulatory changes, and shifts in customer behaviour.

“In the face of these types of changes, the CIBN must remain steadfast in its commitment to excellence and innovation. The incoming leadership must embrace new ideas and emerging technologies and foster collaboration within the industry to navigate these challenges and seize the opportunities that lie ahead.

“As we look to the future, we must not lose sight of the importance of financial inclusion and sustainable development. Despite progress has been made in expanding access to financial services. Millions of Nigerians remain on the side or excluded from the formal banking sector. It is incumbent upon all stakeholders including the CIBN to redouble your efforts to promote financial literacy, expand access to finance, and foster inclusive growth, that leaves no one behind.”

Meanwhile, the Managing Director/Chief Executive Officer of the Nigeria Deposit Insurance Corporation, Bello Hassan, called on banking sector players to pay attention to cybersecurity, saying, “In this regard, a deliberate and collaborative approach to cyber risk involving all stakeholders is essential to protect the resilience of the banking system.”

Other elected officeholders include First Vice President, Dele Alake, Second Vice President, Mojisola Bakare-Asieru, and National Treasurer, Peter Ashade.

Olanrewaju was elected on April 6, 2024.

You May Also Like